Success, You Elusive Little Bastard, You’re Mine!

Well, readers, this past week has been quite an adventurous one for me. I’ve tried new exercise (Zumba), hiked a couple of miles at the Chicago Botanical Garden, (if you’re on FB and we’re friends, check out my pics) resisted the urge to bitch-slap the menfolk at my office who insist on eating cake every day, and stayed on track with my Points (even with wine and eating out). And man, oh man, did it all pay off. I went to my Weight Watchers weigh-in this morning and was down 1.6 pounds from last week.  FUCK AND YES!

While I am super excited about my weight loss this week, the sad thing that I was thinking about on my way to work after weigh-in was that it probably took half an hour of eating to put those 1.6 pounds ON my ass, yet it took NON-STOP discipline to get it off.  (Please Note: I do believe it is a sign of spiritual and personal growth that I am not lamenting how unfair it is that so much work was required to get those few pounds off that got here so quickly and easily. It is what it is.)  It really just goes to show what a process this all is, and how looking at this from a day-to-day and week-to-week perspective, rather than the “big goal” is allowing me to get through this. 1.6 pounds is a drop in the bucket of where I would like to go on WW, but it’s a pretty big drop.

I also set goals last week, for what I wanted to accomplish during the past seven days. How did I come in with those? Well, let’s just say, “check and check and check.”  I wanted to try at least one new, vegetarian recipe for dinner – I made a lovely Pasta Farfalle with Creamy Mushroom Sauce.  I wanted to attend 2 yoga classes, which I did! (More importantly, I would have gone to more than 2 yoga classes if the studio hadn’t been closed for their summer vacation after Monday.) And, I wanted to walk 8 miles, cumulatively during the week, which thanks to my trust little pedometer, I did as well. I also broke out of the mold of what I previously had been doing for exercise and did Zumba (a goal from a few weeks ago was to try a new exercise class) and I liked it (and hurt/almost died) but am going to go back.

So, it is time for a new set of goals for the week to get me through (can you tell I like check-lists?):

  1. We’re going to continue with trying new recipes this week – at least 1 new vegetarian recipe, and 1 new recipe (that may have meat).
  2. Attend at least 3 exercise classes this week.
  3. Make yoga part of my daily routine, even if just at home and doing a few poses to stretch in the morning or relax at night.
  4. Track my cravings for foods — part of this for me is that I need to learn what my weaknesses are, my triggers and how to avoid them. I think that the best way for me to do this is to track when I start to crave certain things, what was going on and how I get past each individual trigger.
  5. Limit my diet coke intake to 2 per day. I kicked the regular soda habit many years ago, but I still drink diet coke daily.  Multiple times daily. Sometimes, I will not even realize that I have sucked down 6 diet cokes by lunchtime when I’m at work. And even though diet coke is 0 points, it does have aspartame in it, which I should work on avoiding. I figure if I cut back to a reasonable amount, I may even be able to kick the habit altogether. But I don’t want to get crazy all at once…baby steps, people, baby steps.

I’ve also been advised that the menfolk are planning some type of “cake extravaganza” for Tuesday, which if it is pulled off, will quickly become the subject of yet another blog post. In the meantime, I’ve got to keep on keeping on.

One thought on “Success, You Elusive Little Bastard, You’re Mine!

  1. If you master the Diet Coke thing, please share how…I’ve yet to kick it, if anything my consumption has increased due to the fact that it is my answer to cravings…I ignore the quantity, if I actually kept track I’m sure I’d be disgusted with myself.

Leave a Reply

