I Swear, I Haven’t Died and Been Eaten by the Pugs…..

As I sat down to dinner with Patrick a couple of nights ago, he pointed out that I hadn’t written on my blog in a while….and I realized, holy shit, that’s right, I haven’t. Which got me thinking as to why? Why haven’t I followed up on this project, kept blogging and entertaining the inter-google world with my wit and witticism on being fat and trying to battle it? Well, simply put, we had a lot of family drama and life changes that got in the way….add in laziness and bam, that’s where I went.

 

During the past month when we have been dealing with all sorts of crazy family stuff, personal stuff, job stuff, etc., I have to admit that I also got off the Weight Watchers bandwagon for a bit. I haven’t been to a meeting in 2 weeks and I realized this morning that I actually miss it.  The good thing during this time, though, is that while I haven’t been faithfully attending WW, or counting and calculating points non-stop, I have done pretty decently with eating, making sure I have veggies and not eating out. (I say this after we had pizza last night and went out for a good old-fashioned diner breakfast this morning…..so, basically, we’ve done well up until the past two days.)

 

I also realized that I need to get back on track NOW, as we are entering the most dangerous time of the year for us fatties–winter….it is cold outside, it is chilly inside and there is nothing better than to curl up with piping hot, calorie-laden beverages, oink out on soups filled with butter and cheese, and of course, the holidays.  As I write this, I literally have an apple pie cooking in the oven. The solace I take in that is that (a) I needed to test out the new recipe before Thanksgiving dinner, (b) we had about 2 tons of apples in our house from our weekly produce share and couldn’t eat them all before they go bad without cooking them, and (c) by making my own pie, at least I can control the amount of sugar that goes in, limiting calories and keeping the Points value down. Yeah, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. I certainly didn’t also think while I was making the pie how great it would go with some vanilla ice cream and that it wouldn’t take much to pop out to the store to grab some, but I didn’t. And I guess, as of right now, that’s progress.

 

I’ve also been lax in exercising during the past month, for which there is absolutely NO EXCUSE that is acceptable in any dimension….I have the time to do it, the physical ability to do it, and I have plenty of outdoor, weather appropriate gear for doing it.

As of today, I’ve decided to get back on the bandwagon…..time to focus on eating healthy, avoiding take-out (even though we usually only hit it up once a week), and get outside to exercise. I know I’ll look better when I do it, but more importantly, I know I’ll feel better when I do it and have some extra much-needed energy as we head into the holiday season.

 

So I’m back, and going to be kicking ass and taking names!

Leave a Reply

