Change, You’ve Come at a Good Moment in Time….

This morning, Weight Watchers officially unveiled their new PointsPlus plan, which they have been leading up to in the past few weeks.  I logged on to the WW site, which finally works with Google Chrome, my browser of choice, and checked out the beginnings of the new program.  It’s a BIG change from the way things have been done in the past by WW.  Big change! And frankly, it seems to have come at a time when I’ve hit an all-time low and become complacent in my dedication to the plan, working out, etc.

 

How did Fatty Gal become so complacent you ask, dear reader (and I mean all 3 of you when I say that)? Well, complacency is bred by comfort. Over the past few weeks, I have to admit that I haven’t been writing down everything I eat, because I was keeping a mental tally in my head and knew the approximate Points values of my regular foods. I’ve also become MUCH better at eating vegetables and making sure that fruits and veggies are a part of our meals, etc. So, I knew I was getting a lot of good foods, with zero or limited points values, mixed in too. But what I realized over the gluttony that was Thanksgiving, and believe me, I enjoyed the day of food to the greatest extent humanly possible, was that I needed to get back to the basics, which for me means tracking, measuring and being mindful.

 

Let’s face it, here in Chicago, it is also quickly getting really cold, which makes me want to do nothing more than curl up on the couch, under a blanket, with a steaming hot mug of hot cocoa and nosh my way through til spring. I know that it is not a good idea, but my body and mind are going into hibernation mode and I’ve been thinking over the past week or so that unless I want to be air-lifted out of our house this coming spring, I’m going to have to just bite the bullet, get outside in the cold and get a grip back into the world of reality.

 

Thus, what better than the unveiling of a NEW Points Plan that is going to require me to relearn the tracking system, be committed to writing everything down, and watch what I toss in my maw? I know, it has come right when it needed to.  Upon cursory investigation, the new PointsPlus Plan looks interesting, and I’m curious to learn more….I’m definitely going to have to hit up my weekly meeting on Wednesday to get the low-down, as I somehow now have 48 daily points, 49 weekly points to use, and all the previously assigned Points values that I knew and loved and relied on, are all wonky. Fruit is zero points? Really? Sweet.  But wait, a chicken breast is now more points? Waaaah!

 

Darwin taught us that if we don’t adapt, we will drift off into extinction. So, it’s time for me to get my game back on and learn the new ways before I become a dinosaur!

2 thoughts on “Change, You’ve Come at a Good Moment in Time….

  1. I know it has been a challenge for us to keep up our exercise routine since the cold weather came in. My motivation was my yearly physical was last week and for once I wanted to be told death was not imminent. It worked, but now it is past and I have to grasp at the next external motivation. Say, I don’t do WW… how many points is scotch?

    1. Well, according to the newly improved WW website, Scotch is 4 Points for 1.5 ounces. I really think liquor gets such a bad rap on this plan…I’m waiting for the day that wine is zero points and I can just drink, drink away.

Leave a Reply

