My 2011 Book Challenge….

Do you have a bookshelf somewhere in your home that looks like this? (Please note, this is not my bookshelf, but belongs to some stranger who posted it onto the internet.)

Each year, I try to give myself a little “challenge” with respect to my reading.  One year, it was to read at least 15 books from the Modern Library’s Top 100 Books. Another year, it was to read 52 books, one for each week.  Last year (2010), it was to hit 60 books in the year, and try some new authors and genres that I didn’t previously read a ton of.

This year, I’m going to participate in the BA Reading Challenge “Off the Shelf” Challenge, as suggested to me by a friend, Ranae, whose lovely blog you can read right here! For anybody who knows me and has seen our home, I have TONS of books. I buy them with the best of intentions, but so often I do not read them right away and they end up sitting on the shelf, looking sad, wishing and hoping that they would get read and then passed along to another person who will enjoy them. Well, kids, this is the year. 2011, I’m dedicating you as the year of clearing off my bookshelves by reading the books that I already have.  The rules are simply and easy to follow, especially if you have as many books as I do:

1.  Grab a book that you already own, whether it’s on the shelf, nightstand, or by the door.

2.  Start reading!

Challenge Levels

  1. Tempted–  Choose 5 books to read
  2. Trying – Choose 15 books to read
  3. Making A Dint – Choose 30 books to read
  4. On A Roll – Choose 50 books to read
  5. Flying Off – Choose 75 books to read

For extra hard challenges

  1. Hoarder – Choose 76-125 books to read
  2. Buried – Choose 126-200 books to read

I’m going to aim to be a level 3 reader, “making a dint” in my collection.  I figure if I read 84 books in 2010, and in 2011, I can keep up even a moderate pace of 60 books read, then half will be books that I already own and hopefully it will be even more. Feel free to join along in the challenge and clear off your own bookshelves — FOR MORE BOOKS!

Leave a Reply

