Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’?

So, one of my favorite, favorite, favorite blogs to read of late has been Holly Would If She Could. Holly is a Californian who eats Paleo, does Cross fit, loves to read, and garden and just seems like exactly the kind of sassy gal all my gal pals and I would be friends with. You know, if we lived in California, or she lived in Chicago. She’s also a huge inspiration because she has followed through on her decision to eat healthy, live healthy and get healthy and she looks fabulous. Whenever I get intimidated about how much weight I want to lose or get frustrated at how far I think I have to go, a quick hop over to her site gets me motivated again because it CAN be done.

One of my favorite features for her blog is her weekly roundup of what she’s planning for meals for the week. I look to her for inspiration, and maybe just copied half her meal plan this week since I was being lazy. Let’s face it — while we all have our tried and true dinners that we make week after week, because we love them and are familiar with them and can whip them up quickly, we all need to see new stuff in the mix. Also, and maybe it’s just me, but when I meal plan for my week, I eat better all around since I know, without question, here is what I’m having on Tuesday night and I don’t get to 5pm on Tuesday night and go “Oh holy fuck, I don’t have anything defrosted or that I want to eat.” Ā I also have a husband who literally made a face at me the last time I made Pioneer Woman’s Mustard Chicken (which I love, but yes, I may have started to put it too heavily into the rotation). New stuff was needed, and fast.

So, in a total homage to Holly, I figure I’d share what my meal plan for this week is!

Sunday:

Paleo Pad Thai

I came across this recipe on one of the Paleo food blogs I read and had almost everything on hand to make it. My husband is a HUGE fan of Thai food and I always enjoy trying my hand at new things. I had to substitute an onion for a shallot and peanuts for macadamia nuts, but the result was DELISH. And it definitely made more than just 2 servings of food, so I have leftovers to enjoy for my lunch:) Go me!

Monday:

Meatballs and a Kickass Salad — This is actually for my husband and his friend Jon who is coming over tonight, as I will be having Ladies Dancing With the Stars dinner celebration! The meatballs are simmering away in the Crockpot for the guys to enjoy whenever they get hungry, and the bonus is I made so much that I’ll surely have lunchtime leftovers this week. Huzzah!

Tuesday:

Grilled Bell Peppers and Onion and Turkey Sausage — Now that it’s warm it’s getting to be grilling season, so I plan on making this one a lot. It’s also something Patrick can eat without getting sick of it. It’s spectacularly easy, sinfully delicious and will be the subject of its own post really soon. I promise:)

Wednesday:

Grilled Tuscan Chicken with Lemon and Rosemary (totally stole this recipe from Holly’s blog this week, but it looks too goddamn good not to eat) & Grilled Lemon-Garlic Broccoli

Thursday:

Paleolasagna — I don’t know what to say about this meal except that just looking at the picture is making me unbelievably hungry and excited for this dinner. Check it out, I don’t think you’ll regret it!

Friday:

Taco Salad Bar Night!

Saturday:

Leftovers or maybe eating out or maybe a quick stir-fry or maybe Patrick will be cooking. We are hosting a big barbeque on Sunday for our dear friends who are moving away and I know there will be tons of cooking and food prep for that, and I know I won’t want to cook a big Saturday meal.

I’m planning on making this a weekly feature, and would LOVE to hear what you all are making this week….new recipes and ideas are always fun and always welcome!

4 thoughts on “Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’?

  1. Make it a weekly feature! We aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall need inspiration, girl! šŸ™‚ Looks delicious. I hope that rosemary chicken is good…first time I’m trying it too!

    Also, don’t be intimidated about weight loss goals. Life is long. It gives us something to do. šŸ™‚

    1. Girl, that is SO true…..life is long and it’s just one day at a time:) I’m psyched to try the rosemary chicken….I’ve yet to make anything Martha Stewart that I don’t love, so here’s to hoping. šŸ™‚

  2. That Tuscan chicken recipe sounds amazing!!! I am loving all of the meals you are planning this week!

    1. Thanks! I’m hoping the rosemary chicken works out, as I LURVE all the ingredients! If it does, I can easily see it becoming a staple in this household for dinner:)

Leave a Reply

