Holy Long Time Without a Post, Batman!

I seriously cannot even believe that my last post was several months ago. And then, when I stop to think about it, I actually can believe that my last post was several months ago. Makes me want to hang my head in shame since there have been so many times when I have said “I’m going to sit down and write a blog post” and then I get caught up doing other things…..reading a good book (is there any interest in book posts on here), eating, watching TV, Oscar movie season, working, even napping took precedence. Time to hang my head in shame for a few moments……(am actually hanging my head in shame right now).

But spring seems to have sprung here in the midwest (at least today it is, where it is nearly 50 and raining, melting our foot of snow we got 4 days ago)!  It is a time for new beginnings, spring cleaning, shedding the winter weight and doldrums that, at the very least, hit me in February. And time to start looking forward to a new season — gardening, cooking, new books, new knitting and the belief that one day soon I’ll be able to have my morning cup of coffee on the back porch without freezing my ass off.

Over the past few months, I have to admit that hubby and I have gotten off track with our Paleo eating. Things like Thanksgiving, Christmas, pasta, pizza and cookies called our names all too loudly…..and sometimes it was just easier to eat crappy food than take the time to sit down and make healthy eating a priority.  It is time for that to end and we sat down and made a healthy meal plan, which in turn made going to the grocery store a million times easier as I knew what we were eating and what we needed. Shocking, I know! Sometimes, we all need to be reminded of the simplest lessons. I went to the store and got lots of yummy foods. Huzzah! Sometimes, we have to take our success in the smallest ways.

One of the difficult things of late has been my new (and somewhat crazy, non-traditional work schedule). Back in October I got promoted (awesomesauce) and it was right as we went into the holiday retail season (which for non-retail people means we start in August with Christmas–no joke). I hopped right in with really long hours, shifting commutes as I went to different stores, and 6 day work weeks. This made, for me, getting healthy dinners on the table a bit less easy for the nights Patrick and I were able to eat together. So one of the things we are trying this time around is more easy prep stuff on the days I work when Patrick doesn’t cook (fancier dinners can wait til days off). Which, of course, leads me to the delightful meal we had last night for dinner.

At some point in the last few weeks, I’d pinned this recipe over on Pinterest for Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Bell Peppers. The photos were ah-mazing and looks so good and we LOVE Philly Cheesesteaks in this house (see my previous post on Paleo friendly Philly Cheesesteaks). This was a new take on it and I thought why not. So last night, after I got home from working way longer than I was scheduled for, I set to work replicating this. Since I like to have leftovers (makes lunch a lot easier the next day), we used the following ingredients:

  • 4 Large Green Bell Peppers
  • 1.5lb Sara Lee Rare Roast Beef (from the deli, on sale, score!)
  • Sliced Provolone Cheese
  • 1 Large Yellow Onion (sliced into half-rings)
  • 1 16oz container pre-sliced mushrooms (don’t judge me for not slicing my own, I was time saving)
  • A buncha minced garlic (do this to your own taste, I used about 1.5T)
  • Butter

In your pan, melt the butter over medium heat and add the onions, mushrooms and garlic. Sautee until everything is carmelized beautifully. (About 20 minutes) See, doesn’t it look so gorgeous just cooking away?

2013-03-09 19.07.40

While that was cooking away, I sliced my peppers (cut the top off, then pull out the center, then slice in half from top down). Seed them and then lay them on a baking sheet with parchment.  Put 1 slice of provolone cheese in the bottom of each pepper. Like so:

2013-03-09 19.07.35

Once the onion/mushroom/garlic mixture is looking all sexy and carmelized, lay your slices of roast beef into the pan and get them all warmed up and mixed in with the onion/mushroom/garlic mix.  Once everything is sufficiently warmed up (this requires taste testing, so good), use your tongs or a spoon and transfer it into the individual peppers. Then, top each pepper with another slice of Provolone cheese.

2013-03-09 19.19.49

Bake the peppers at 400 degrees for about 12-15 minutes until the cheese is melted and golden brown. Then, dive in! This was our result last night and they were so delicious!!!!!

2013-03-09 19.37.06

2013-03-09 19.37.11

I cannot recommend this meal highly enough. I didn’t miss the bread of the sandwich at all and was filled up after eating them. Total prep time and cooking time was about 45 minutes, but it seemed much faster since you’re prepping different parts while things cook.

Tonight, we are having Korean Braised Vegetables and Chicken (first time trying Korean food) so keep your fingers crossed that it all turns out!

One thought on “Holy Long Time Without a Post, Batman!

  1. Yay! You posted!

    And yes to book posts! And food posts! And recipe posts! And what the heck is going on in your life posts!

    Glad to hear you are doing well and doing your best to juggle your priorities. Don’t be too hard on yourself, one cannot kick ass in every arena in their life at all times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

