Super Easy Peasy Italian Beef!

Hands down, my favorite kitchen tool in this world is my CrockPot. I love anything that I can plug in, toss my food in and walk away from for hours at a time and then come back to a perfectly cooked and delicious meal. If you don’t have a CrockPot, get one and I guarantee it will become one of your favorite, most-used items in your cooking arsenal.

 

I suggest that you get one with a timer on it, so that you can set how long you want the cooking time to be, but you don’t have to  blow a huge wad of cash on this item.  We got ours at Target years ago and it works like a dream!  We have the previous version of this CrockPot. Reasonable price and great product. If you’re feeling real saucy, you can get the super fancy Slow Cooker Liners so you don’t even have to clean too much when you’re done. I personally find them to be a bit pricey for what you get, but when we do our annual Super Bowl Party where we have 4 CrockPots with chilis going, we use them, as I already have enough to do on that day.

I’ve had a chuck roast in my freezer for about a month now that I’ve been intending to make Italian Beef with and today was the day. I was off work, and normally would do a nice big meal as I have time to cook, but decided I had other things I wanted to get done instead of doing something slightly more complicated. I pulled that roast out of the freezer yesterday to defrost it and cooked up this delightful Italian Beef. I posted this picture on my Instagram account tonight and got a bunch of likes and requests for the recipe. I swear, you all will laugh at how goddamn easy it is!

 

2013-04-02 19.22.01

Ingredients:

  • 1 Chuck Roast, preferably 2-3lb
  • 1 Packet (or 3T) Italian Seasoning
  • 1 22oz can Miller Lite (or other cheap beer)
  • 1 jar Jardoneira (you can go spicy hot, mild, or medium, whatever your taste preference)

How To:

  1. Turn your CrockPot on low.
  2. Coat the Chuck Roast in the Italian Seasonings, being sure to get both sides.
  3. Put Chuck Roast in CrockPot.
  4. Pour Jardoneria in. [Note: I’m fully intending to learn how to make my own Jardoneira and when that happens, I’ll share the recipe here!]
  5. Pour beer in.
  6. Cover and cook until the meat is breaking apart–usually about 6-8 hours.
  7. Serve over a bread of your choice with cheese of your choice. We used Provolone Cheese. Super Sharp Cheddar is also really awesome.

 

If you make the Italian Beef right, not only will you scarf it down the first time you eat it, you’ll have plenty left over for leftovers in the following days.  Store it in an airtight tupperware container in the fridge for no more than 7 days. Microwave and eat up!

 

Please note, I served mine with leftover Hash Brown and Cheesey Breakfast Casserole made by my sister-in-law for Easter…..definitely not Paleo or even super healthy, but as I told a friend, they were so good and it would have been decidedly rude not to take the leftovers. THEY ARE IN MY BELLY NOW! I regret nothing.

In other news, today marks the first day that my bestie Carolyne and I are doing a Couch 2 5K program. We are using the C25K free app from ZenLabs (available to both iPhone and Android). Allegedly, by following the program, within 8 weeks we will be able to run a 5K race without stopping.  I’m intrigued to see how this will go.

 

I’ve started and stopped such programs before, but would really like to do this. Running has always been a pain in the ass, due to my weight and also having really big breasts. Thanks to a really good sports bra, that is hopefully not going to be an issue. Today’s workout was 30 minutes long, with 5 minutes of warmup walking, and then 20 minutes of intervals (60 seconds running; 90 seconds walking), and another 5 minutes of cool down walking. I gotta admit, those 60 second running intervals seemed like a really long time. The 90 seconds of walking in between? Not long enough! Stomps foot and screams not fair! But we did it. We got it done. We ran in Lincoln Park, near where Carolyne lives, and the scenery definitely made it a bit easier. Next workout is scheduled for Thursday, after what I know is going to be a looooong workday. But the weather is going to be nice and my (less) fat ass will be in the park running! Anyone else ever do a C25K? How did it go for you?

 

TTFN, fabulous readers!

Leave a Reply

